NaNoWriMo is here!


Hey, guys, and thanks for reading my first real post on Teen Fiction Girl, which I will henceforth abbreviate as TFG!

So, if you read my introductory post, you’ll know that, for most of November, this amazing program will be pretty much taking up my life.  It’s called NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month, which is a pretty accurate description of what it is.  It’s where several thousand people wait with bated breath for November to start, and when it does start, they write like writing demons to try and finish their word count goal (and hopefully even their entire novel, although last year that didn’t happen to me) before the month is over.  Remember this post?  Yeah, I did it last year, too.

That sounds like it would be hard, stressful, and/or frustrating, but really it’s more like decorating a cake than baking one – no instructions, no guidelines, just a virtual creative party where you can watch your piece come together with the amazing satisfaction of watching icing squeeze out of a tube.

This is my word-count meter for the month.
bloopIt’s kind of blurry since the original page was so small, but you get the idea.  It’s only November 9th and I’m already more than halfway through my word count.

Don’t believe it can be done?  Last NaNoWriMo, I wrote this article about a novel belonging to a NaNo friend of mine.  Unlike my book, The Juniper Tree, which never really took off, she actually completed, edited (yuck) and published her novel.  That she finished in thirty days.  That’s why NaNoWriMo is so awesome.

Anyway, thanks for reading!  If you’ve done NaNoWriMo before, I’d love to hear about it in the comments.  If you enjoyed this post, please leave a nice rating and (if you have a WordPress account) a like as well.  Thanks, guys, and happy writing!

~ Summer

2 comments

What do you think? Share your thoughts!

