About My NaNoWriMo Novel for This Year


Hey, guys, and thanks for reading Teen Fiction Girl!  If you’ve followed my blog since I started it (which was like three days ago, so that’s not that difficult) you’ll know that the main subject of my November posts is the amazing thing called NaNoWriMo.  If not, well, I suggest you go back and read my first post about it so you know more or less what it is.

Now, to write, you need a novel to be writing, and I happen to have one right here.  *pulls out novel*

I don’t really know how I got this far without talking about it, but anyway, here’s my novel.

It’s called Dragonborn, and it’s based partially on this story-sort of thing I wrote with my friend a few years ago.  Well, it started out like that, anyway.  As I started writing it, it turned into something so different that really, the only things that are remotely the same are the personalities of the two main characters.

At first it was going to be a trilogy, but I’m infamously bad at being able to write even one and a half books in a series, so I decided I’d stick with writing only one.  However, my story was going to work best in three parts anyway, so I decided to divide my book into three parts sort of like Suzanne Collins did with the three books within each of the Hunger Games books.

This is the summary I put on my NaNoWriMo page.  I’ve been changing/updating it a lot, but this gets the gist of the story out there.

Ambrosia Kiau. Thirteen years old. She’s lived in the mountains her entire life, outside the Union, where her father says the society is a mess. She’d never leave. Not unless she had a really great reason to, at least. But when her beloved older brother, Eryth, goes mysteriously missing, lost on a missionary trip to Ki’baan, the worst slum that the Union has to offer, she’ll stop at nothing to bring him back home safely – that is, until a betrayal from a “friend” lands her in the middle of a grand scheme that she never dreamed of.

Ardonas Hackenley. Called Arrow by his close friends. Fourteen years old. A ghetto boy at best. His entire life has been spent fighting and thieving, struggling for survival in Ki’baan, his very own first-person-shooter of a city. He’s confident that he can handle anything, until he gets mixed up in a scandal that started with one stolen loaf of bread and quickly snowballed into something larger than he could have ever imagined.

These two have never met in their lives, and they never expected to. But when they’re forced into each others’ lives by a kidnapping, a manhunt, and a surly jailer named Glyssa Quint, they realize they have more in common with each other than they’d have believed… and uncover a truth – and a threat – large enough to swallow the Union whole.

Yeah, I guess that works for now.

Oh, and look at this.  It even has a cover.

Dragonborn-cover-tagline-2

This, also, is subject to a lot of change, especially the tagline, but considering I drew it all myself (aside from the font I used for the tagline and author name), I think it could be a lot worse.

Maybe I’ll post some excerpts later.  Maybe.

Anyway, thanks for reading!  If you enjoyed reading about my story (you’re not allowed to read the actual story yet, sorry!) I’d love it if you’d leave a like and/or nice rating, and tell me what you think in the comments!

~ Summer

9 comments

  1. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    Like

  2. ooo nice!!
    I really do want to read it!

    ( couldn’t help thinking Union meant Onion… sorry)

    but yeah, this could be a brilliant story

    Like

What do you think? Share your thoughts!

